Entry list, TV schedule for Sunday’s All-Star Race

The NASCAR Cup Series is making its long-awaited return to North Wilkesboro Speedway for the first time since 1996.

The weekend includes a Craftsman Truck Series race on Saturday and the All-Star Race and All-Star Open on Sunday. It’ll be a heavy dose of nostalgia for those who remember the venerable of short track in the North Carolina countryside. SMI has done a nearly-complete face lift of the track while leaving some of the most notable characteristics of the speedway alone or slightly refurbished.

The quality of racing will be a test for the current race car, which has struggled to produce consistent and interesting racing on short tracks over the last season and a half.

Here’s what you need to know about All-Star weekend:

LARSON VS. CHASTAIN: Trackhouse Racing’s Justin Marks has ‘difficult’ talk with Ross Chastain after latest incident

LAST WEEK’S RACE: William Byron wins NASCAR Darlington race in OT after Kyle Larson, Ross Chastain collide

NASCAR Cup Series at North Wilkesboro schedule, All-Star Race format

Green Flag Time: 7 p.m. CT on Sunday, May 21

Track: North Wilkesboro Speedway (0.625 mile oval) in North Wilkesboro, N.C.

Qualifying format: A pit crew challenge (4:30 p.m. CT Friday, FS1) will set the lineups for the All-Star heat races and the All-Star Open. Timing will start when the car reaches the pit box behind the team’s stall and will conclude after a pit stop and when the race passes the pit box ahead of the team’s stall. Two 60-lap heat races (6:20 p.m. CT Saturday, FS1) will set the All-Star Race lineups among the 21 eligible cars. Heat Race No. 1 will set the inside row for the All-Star Race, while Heat Race No. 2 will set the outside row.

All-Star Open format: The 16-car field will compete in a 100-lap race (4:30 p.m. CT Sunday, FS1), with the top two finishers advancing to the All-Star Race.

All-Star Race format: The 200-lap All-Star Race (7 p.m. CT Sunday, FS1) will include a field of 24 cars, including the 21 drivers already eligible, the top two finishers in the All-Star Open and the fan vote winner. There will be a competition caution at halfway, and teams will only have one fresh set of tires to use for the final 100 laps.

TV coverage: FOX Sports 1

Radio: MRN

Streaming: FOX Sports app (subscription required); MRN.com and SiriusXM for audio (subscription required)

Xfinity Series this week: OFF

Truck Series this week: Tyson 250 (250 laps, 156.25 miles) at North Wilkesboro Speedway, 12:30 p.m. CT Saturday on FOX

NASCAR All-Star Race entry list

  • Ross Chastain, No. 1 Trackhouse Racing Chevrolet

  • Austin Cindric, No. 2 Team Penske Ford

  • Austin Dillon, No. 3 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet

  • Kyle Larson, No. 5 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet

  • Brad Keselowski, No. 6 Roush Fenway Keselowski Racing Ford

  • Kyle Busch, No. 8 Richard Childress Racing Chevrolet

  • Chase Elliott, No. 9 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet

  • Denny Hamlin, No. 11 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota

  • Ryan Blaney, No. 12 Team Penske Ford

  • Chase Briscoe, No. 14 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford

  • Chris Buescher, No. 17 Roush Fenway Keselowski Racing Ford

  • Martin Truex Jr., No. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota

  • Christopher Bell, No. 20 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota

  • Joey Logano, No. 22 Team Penske Ford

  • Bubba Wallace, No. 23 23XI Racing Toyota

  • William Byron, No. 24 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet

  • Kevin Harvick, No. 29 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford

  • Erik Jones, No. 43 Legacy Motor Club Chevrolet

  • Tyler Reddick, No. 45 23XI Racing Toyota

  • Ricky Stenhouse Jr., No. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing Chevrolet

  • Daniel Suarez, No. 99 Trackhouse Racing Chevrolet

  • All-Star Open 1st place finisher

  • All-Star Open 2nd place finisher

  • Fan Vote winner from remaining Open drivers

All-Star Open entry list

  • Corey Lajoie, No. 7 Spire Motorsports Chevrolet

  • Aric Almirola, No. 10 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford

  • Chandler Smith, No. 13 Kaulig Racing Chevrolet

  • JJ Yeley, No. 15 Rick Ware Racing Ford

  • AJ Allmendinger, No. 16 Kaulig Racing Chevrolet

  • Harrison Burton, No. 21 Wood Brothers Racing Ford

  • Justin Haley, No. 31 Kaulig Racing Chevrolet

  • Michael McDowell, No. 34 Front Row Motorsports Ford

  • Todd Gilliland, No. 38 Front Row Motorsports Ford

  • Ryan Preece, No. 41 Stewart-Haas Racing Ford

  • Noah Gragson, No. 42 Legacy Motor Club Chevrolet

  • Josh Berry, No. 48 Hendrick Motorsports Chevrolet

  • Ryan Newman, No. 51 Rick Ware Racing Ford

  • Ty Gibbs, No. 54 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota

  • Ty Dillon, No. 77 Spire Motorsports Chevrolet

  • Josh Bilicki, No. 78 Live Fast Motorsports Chevrolet

This article originally appeared on Nashville Tennessean: NASCAR North Wilkesboro: Entry list, TV schedule for Sunday’s All-Star Race

Source link

Leave a Comment