2023 Indianapolis 500 results from qualifying at IMS

Welcome to 2023 Indianapolis 500 qualifying. Positions 10-30 for the May 28 race will be determined Saturday, while the top 12 spots and positions 31-33 will be determined Sunday. One of the 34 entries will fail to make the race on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway’s 2.5-mile oval.

If Fast Friday is any indication, watch out for Chip Ganassi Racing or Team Penske drivers to challenge for the top spots.

Every driver is guaranteed one qualifying attempt Saturday, then the strategy begins. Here’s how Indy 500 qualifying works. Follow Nathan Brown for IndyCar Series coverage all season, and we will have every qualifying attempt on Saturday here. Please remember to refresh.

Indy 500 streaming, TV: How can I watch the race, practice, qualifying?

First time through the field: Indianapolis 500 2023 qualifying order

8:30 a.m.: Indy 500 qualifying practice

∎ Alex Palou goes 232.714 mph in a simulated qualifying run in his new engine. Callum Ilott goes just under 225 mph, which would be far too slow to make the race. Just another 5 of 17 eligible cars took hot laps. Next up: qualifying at 11 a.m. ET.

∎ Just 5 of 17 eligible cars took hot laps during the first half of the practice session. Scott Dixon had a simulated qualifying run at 231.740 with his new engine, and Jack Harvey was in the 228.5 range.

∎ There are engine issues already: Scott Dixon, who seeks a record-setting third consecutive pole position, and his Chip Ganassi Racing teammate Alex Palou swapped engines overnight. That makes this morning’s practice critical for them. Also, Jack Harvey from Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing has a new engine. His old engine failed late in Fast Friday practice.

∎ It’s cool and sunny at IMS: temperatures in the 50s with wind out of the north (a headwind on the back straightaway). Fast Friday featured mostly cloudy skies and wind out of the south.

8 a.m.: There’s hope for Callum Ilott

The No. 77 car appears to be ready to go. That was in serious question on Friday when the team decided to swap out the chassis after the original set-up was deemed uncompetitive and unsafe.

Indianapolis 500 qualifying order

  1. Ryan Hunter-Reay

  2. Colton Herta

  3. Will Power

  4. Helio Castroneves

  5. Marco Andretti

  6. Marcus Ericsson

  7. Christian Lundgaard

  8. Alexander Rossi

  9. Scott Dixon

  10. Simon Pagenaud

  11. Benjamin Pedersen

  12. Sting Ray Robb

  13. Felix Rosenqvist

  14. Tony Kanaan

  15. Ed Carpenter

  16. R.C. Enerson

  17. Jack Harvey

  18. Conor Daly

  19. Devlin DeFrancesco

  20. Graham Rahal

  21. Rinus VeeKay

  22. Pato O’Ward

  23. Callum Ilott

  24. Stefan Wilson

  25. Takuma Sato

  26. David Malukas

  27. Santino Ferrucci

  28. Alex Palou

  29. Romain Grosjean

  30. Kyle Kirkwood

  31. Katherine Legge

  32. Scott McLaughlin

  33. Augustin Canapino

  34. Josef Newgarden

This article originally appeared on Indianapolis Star: Indy 500 qualifying results from Indianapolis Motor Speedway

Source link

Leave a Comment